Splashes of Colours

Cloth diapers – please say yes!!

Leave a comment

image

Baby Taylor is … not born yet. BUT I have already bought diapers (cloth diapers) for him. Yes, I know what you are thinking – Kiasu mother. I sure am one, and pretty sure am going to be a ‘Tiger Mum’ too.

Frankly, this whole business of diapering is draining a lot of my brain cells. At least only disposable ones came to mind, and then I saw these cute designs which will certainly increase the cuteness factor of any baby. However, being a practical and realistic person, I know there will be times when I will pull my hair, scream and poke at my baby. So now, I decided to use cloth diapers partially (ideally, 70% of the time) and support the diapering cycle with disposable ones.

And I know my mother-in-law (MIL) is supportive of cloth diapers and she will be the one helping me with the baby when I go to work, so I think the cloth diapering system will last for my bab(ies). Yes, I know my MIL is cool. Not every MIL will do such hard chores.

So, ain’t these diapers adorable? *wink* The colourful snaps are such candy to the eyes. I got them quite cheap online. These are definitely not those branded names, but who cares. As long as it serves its basic purpose, I’m happy with the purchase. I cannot afford SGD30 for each cloth diaper.

However, I don’t think they will fit newborn. But never mind, will use disposable diaper + inserts/prefolds for Taylor’s first month.

Actually, though the confessions of other mummies who use disposables ring loud and clear, I do think I can be gungho and persevere in this cloth diapering system for my bab(ies). Firstly, the main reason is that it will be so much cheaper in the long run, especially if you intend to have more babies (I hope I can have 3 babies, cheers!!). Secondly, the amount of waste and rubbish generated from the disposable system is simply unimaginable and a huge part of me cannot bear to do this to the environment. This sounds exactly like a win-win situation to me. 🙂

So everyone, cheer me on k?

Leave a Reply

